The winners of the 2012 Sport's Awards

The Maleny and District Sports and Recreation Club held their annual sports awards dinner at the Maleny Showgrounds pavillion on Saturday February 25th. 

Whilst the weather was damp the enthusiasm for the night was not dampened.    Approximately 180 people attended to find out who the winners were for the 2011-2012 Maleny Sports Awards.

The night of entertainment was hosted by Simon Denver who never fails to light up the function.    The three course meal was expertly catered by Chefs Sherry Wright and Gunnar  Jonsson assisted by their band of helpers from the Maleny Swimming Club, whilst the table service was carried out by the workers from the Maleny Bowls Club.

The night really belongs to the athlets and their community organisations so to the business of the night.

The list of winners are as follows:-

Sportsperson of the Year

Jessica Huebner from the Maleny Netball Club

Junior Sportsperson of the Year

Aidan Titheradge ftom the Maleny Little Athletics Centre

Junior Encouragement Award

Natasha Hodgson from the  Maleny Netball

Sporting Team of the Year

Maleny Judo Club

Club/Organisation of the Year

Maleny TS Centaur Naval Cadets

Administrator/Volunteer of the Year

Terri Schaumberg Maleny Little Athletics Centre

The guest speaker, Tim Mander provided an amusing insight into the real world of life on-field as an NRL referee, and spoke passionately of the important role school chaplains provide in the lives of our young people.    A donation was made on the night to the chaplains of the Conondale State School, the Maleny State School and the Maleny Primary School.

MDSRC hearily congratulates the winners and every single nominee -  every one a winner.

MDSARC Inc President, Mike Norman said,   "Thanks must go to everyone involved for their support in making the evening such a success, including invited guests, Andrew Powell, Tim Dwyer, Jenny McKay and Peter Slipper."